Saturday, February 14, 2015

HMS Scholastic Writing Contest Winners

We are excited to announce that thirteen HMS students will be honored at the annual Scholastic Art and Writing Awards Ceremony in Portland on February 27th. Gold Key Winners' work will travel on to the National Competition. 

The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards were founded in 1923. As their website notes: Since its founding, the Awards have established an amazing track record for identifying the early promise of our nation’s most accomplished and prolific creative leaders. Alumni include artists Andy Warhol, Philip Pearlstein, Cy Twombly, Robert Indiana, Kay WalkingStick, and John Baldessari; writers Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Bernard Malamud, Maya Goldberg, and Joyce Carol Oates; photographer Richard Avedon (who won for poetry); actors Frances Farmer, Robert Redford, Alan Arkin, and John Lithgow; and filmmakers Stan Brakhage, Ken Burns, and Richard Linklater. Outside the arts, Awards alumni employ their creativity to become successful in any number of ways – leaders in fields including journalism, medicine, finance, government and public service, the law, science, design, and more. 

Heartfelt congratulations to the following students for this impressive accomplishment. We thank them for sharing their talent and creativity with us.  

Gold Key:
Natalie Bourassa, Personal Essay

Hannah Grant, Personal Essay
Andrea Mwindu, Poetry

Emma Walsh, Personal Essay

Silver Key:
Caroline Grant, Poetry
Jesse Guzman, Short Story 

Isabelle King, Personal Essay 
Eleanor Rasor, Poetry
Sophie Wink, Personal Essay

Honorable Mention
Clementine Blashcke, Personal Essay

Claire Brady, Personal Essay 
Andrea Mwindu, Poetry 
Lulu Rasor, Personal Essay 
Anna Sladek, Poetry 
TOP Row: Caroline Grant, Eleanor Rasor, Clementine Blaschke, Anna Sladek, Claire Brady, Sophie Wink

BOTTOM Row: Natalie Bourassa, Hannah Grant, Lulu Rasor, Emily Walsh
Unfortunately not pictured in photo: Andrea Mwindu, Jesse Guzman, Isabelle King

No comments:

Post a Comment