Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

The Awards are an important opportunity for students to be recognized for their creative talents. Each year, the Alliance for Young Writers and Artists, a national organization, partners with more than 100 visual and literary-arts focused organizations across the country to bring The Awards to local communities. The Maine partner is the Southern Maine Writing Project at the University of Southern Maine. The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have an impressive legacy dating back to 1923 and a noteworthy roster of past winners including Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Robert Redford and Joyce Carol Oates. We are pleased to see such a strong Yarmouth showing in these writing awards.

Twelve HMS Students will be honored at USM on March 16th during the Annual Scholastic Writing Awards. Congratulations to Silver Key winners Lucy Alexander, Brenden Norwood, Isabelle Murray and Meredith Hawkins, and to Honorable Mention Writers Cody Cook (two categories!), Jake Cooper, Sarah Gleason, Mary Kate Gunville, Samantha Jones, Liane Rolls, Jack Diggins and Henry Becker (who was missing for this photo).

No comments:

Post a Comment