Wednesday, February 3, 2016

2016 Scholastic Writing Awards

We're excited to announce the 2016 Scholastic Writing Awards for the Maine Region!Gold Awards: Alex Augur and Sadie Cowles

Silver Awards: Harry Mellor, Cloe DeCristoforo, Evan Lucca, Najee McQueen, Michael McNeil, Quincy Whipple

Honorable Mention: Shanti Gallivan, Samson O'Donnell, Louisa Thompson-Longshore, Tristan Winchester, and Amelia Watt

Congratulations to these students and their teachers: Charlotte Agell, Ira Warshaw, Brad Martin, Mike Hagerty, and Marsha Newick for this impressive accomplishment. We thank them for sharing their talent and creativity with us.  Award-winning students and their teachers will be recognized at the upcoming award ceremony.  The award ceremony will be held on Friday, March 11, 2016 at 6:00 p.m., at the Talbot Lecture Hall, Luther Bonney, University of Southern Maine, Portland Campus

The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards were founded in 1923. As their website notes: Since its founding, the Awards have established an amazing track record for identifying the early promise of our nation’s most accomplished and prolific creative leaders. Alumni include artists Andy Warhol, Philip Pearlstein, Cy Twombly, Robert Indiana, Kay WalkingStick, and John Baldessari; writers Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Bernard Malamud, Maya Goldberg, and Joyce Carol Oates; photographer Richard Avedon (who won for poetry); actors Frances Farmer, Robert Redford, Alan Arkin, and John Lithgow; and filmmakers Stan Brakhage, Ken Burns, and Richard Linklater. Outside the arts, Awards alumni employ their creativity to become successful in any number of ways – leaders in fields including journalism, medicine, finance, government and public service, the law, science, design, and more.

Amelia Watt, Cloe DeCristoforo, Sadie Cowles, Alex Auger, Harry Mellor, Quincy Whipple, Sam O'Donnell, Shanti Gallivan, Najee McQueen, Michael McNeil, (Louisa Thompson, Tristan Winchester, and Evan Lucca unfortunately not pictured here)

No comments:

Post a Comment